Thoughts on Sex Magick + Beltane

tulips-1117859_640

Thoughts on Sex Magick + Beltane

Because I was born in April, I really love Beltane. It just feels right. That sounds ridiculous, but I can’t really explain it any other way. The weather is nice this time of year; not too hot or too cold. The sun has come out, but there are occasional showers. I love it. And of course, there’s Beltane to ring in the end of the month.

Beltane is one of the greater sabbats on the wheel of the year. It’s largely a fire festival and has massive fertility overtones. Of course, lots of pagans tend to include sex magick during this time of year, more than any other sabbat, in my opinion. I’m not the orgy frolicking kind so sex magick, if I do engage, would be with my partner, by myself, or not at all.

Instead, I would do rituals that include the fertility theme. New life. New beginnings. New growth. Perhaps, you want a more fertile career, love life, or abundance where money is concerned. These are all perfect rituals for Beltane. You don’t have to get all sexual, BUT you can if you want to. As a solitary, sex magick isn’t something I’d do often just because my partner isn’t pagan so that might get weird, but if you join a coven, there’s always the possibility of this coming up. Especially around this time of year. That said, most covens that do sex magick or have sex rituals don’t make them mandatory, but it’s probably a case-by-case basis. Not all covens are the same, you know?

Anyway, Beltane, for me, will either be a quiet ritual welcoming spring and fertility back into my life or I may hit up a local public ritual; I haven’t decided. The only ones I know of are charging upwards of $30 for a ticket and I find that to be a bit ridiculous. Gotta make that paper, I guess.

If you’re interested in solitary sex magick, there are PLENTY of resources. Just give it a quick google. I’m not really experienced in that so I’m not up for giving advice on something I don’t know much about, but you can definitely find helpful information on it, if you’re interested in including that in your practice.

One thought on “Thoughts on Sex Magick + Beltane

Leave a Reply

