Thoughts on Winter Solstice

leaves-273404_640

Thoughts on Winter Solstice

This is my first year celebrating Yule and the Winter Solstice as a pagan. I’m nervous, but also quite excited. Celebrating sabbats, seasons and all that jazz as a pagan has breathed new life into me. Life has taken on a whole new meaning.

I still love the things I have always loved, but my pagan path has made everything more vibrant; steeped with intention and a stillness in the sureness I’ve found here.

I’m not saying that finding a pagan path has given me all the answers I need about life, but it’s definitely the first time something has fit so perfectly into my life in any kind of spiritual sense. It’s also given me a new sense of peace and I’m so grateful.

Since the winter solstice is a great time reflect, to close the chapter of the year, and make preparations for the new year ahead, it’s a great time to do a winter solstice ritual.

In my area of the world, winter solstice lands at 2:44 AM (tomorrow morning). I’m planning on staying up all night (and then going to work sadly, LOL) and watching the sun rise. It’s a beautiful, but simple ritual that any new pagan or Wiccan can do.

Welcome the Sun God back when winter solstice hits in your time zone.

It’s not complicated. You can make food, meditate, or do some divination or goal planning, if you wish. You can plan a fully fledged ritual for the event (or not). It’s totally up to you.

I wish you a very happy Winter Solstice and a Merry Yule (if you celebrate)!

Otherwise, Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Diwali, Happy Holidays, etc. all to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

